Posted on

Deliverence

Deliverence! Famed Deliverence!
The saints say much of it,
Nowwhere do we look for it?
I long for the touch of it,
I know not where it is to be found,
Which way to go, which nation,
How on earth is the journey?
Or is the journey itself the destination!
Your slave is tired now,
Can’t tread this street of deception,
Purify my being, clean me,
Change my perception,
Relieve me from grief, from hate,
Breed in me some fairness,
Save me from the pangs of fury,
Save me from indebtness,
I trust no one but you,
And beseech you to be my Guide,
My Lord, my Beloved One!
Lead me on the path
To Deliverence!

 

(First published in Brown Critique Journal)

Leave a Reply

